Canterbury Christ Church has four faculties which contain departments and centres for teaching and research. The University’s Faculty of Education is one of the largest providers in the United Kingdom of courses intending for qualified teachers and undergraduates and postgraduates studying in the field of education.  The Faculty comprises 2 schools: the School of Teacher Education and Development, and the School of Childhood and Education Science. There are eight programmes that include a specialisation in physical education with the faculty of education.

Affiliations are with: The Centre for Sport, Physical Education and Activity Research (SPEAR) and The Centre for Health and Social Care Research with the Faculty of  Health and Social Care; the Higher Education Authority UK; and the European Network of Sport Science Education and Employment. The range of student numbers is 18,000 to 20,000. The majority of the student’s population is in Canterbury with a vibrant sustainable campus at Medway and delivery of collaborative programmes with East Kent College at Broadstairs and Bromely College in London. The range of members of staff will grow from 1,650 to 1,850 up to 2020. The mix of academic and professional services staff may shift in order to maintain the student experience and staff/student ratio in response to a move to an extended 9.00am to 9.00pm teaching day.